Student Logo

Home - Login - Register - Help

Home - International Students Community
Exchange programs for secondary and high school students as well as professionals. Find out available programs that suit your needs.
International Students Online

 About our Project

 Contact us

Exchange Students

Fulbright Program

New York 
New York 
809 United Nations Plaza 10017-3580
(212) 883-8200 


The Program was founded in 1946 by the U.S. Congress. Fulbright Program (FP) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State. Approximately 294,000 students have participated in FP since its inception. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 7,500 new grants annually, at a cost of more than $275 million, to U.S. students, teachers, professionals, and scholars to study, teach, lecture, and conduct research in more than 155 countries, as well as to their foreign counterparts to engage in similar activities in the United States.

Fulbright Foreign Student Program (FFSP) gather citizens from other countries to the United States for Master’s degree or Ph.D. study. Foreign students may apply for FP through the Fulbright Commission/Foundation or U.S. Embassy in their home countries. Program eligibility and selection procedures vary widely by country. Currently, the Fulbright Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

The most prestigious international scholarship in science and technology is The International Fulbright Science and Technology Award. It provides talented students with an opportunity to pursue Ph.D. study at top U.S. institutions in areas of science, technology or engineering.

Program eligibility:
     - Candidate should be a citizen, national, or permanent resident of the country where the program is administered by the U.S. Embassy, of a country participating in the Fulbright Program.
     - Cannot be a person holding citizenship in a partner country and U.S. citizenship/ permanent residency.
     - The applicant must have completed undergraduate education and hold a degree equivalent to a bachelor's degree.
     - Obtain sufficient proficiency in the English language to carry out the project required. The Program participant must succeed in testing process. Testing requirements vary by country and program. 
     - There are also specific eligibility requirements for each country.
     - Applicants of FP may not apply to IIE and the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) in the same year. 

Examination. There are two main types of tests that may be required: Language Tests (TOEFL or IELTS) and Admissions Tests (GRE or GMAT)  

Fields of study:
Students interested in pursuing doctoral study in the following fields are eligible to apply: Aeronautics and Astronomics/Aeronautical Engineering; Agriculture (theoretical or research-based focus only); Astronomy/Planetary Sciences; Biology; Biomedical Engineering; Chemistry; Computer Sciences/Engineering; Energy; Engineering (electrical, chemical, civil, mechanical, ocean, and petroleum); Environmental Science/Engineering; Geology/Earth and Atmospheric Sciences; Information Sciences/Engineering (engineering focus only; business-focused study is not eligible); Materials Science/Engineering; Mathematics; Neuroscience/Brain and Cognitive Sciences; Oceanography; Physics; Public Health (theoretical or research-based focus only). If your field is not listed, you are not eligible to apply for this award.

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium and Luxembourg, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, European union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, UK.

The Americas: Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

East Asia and Pacific: Australia, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam.

Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Middle East and North Africa: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

South and Central Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Kazakhstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

 About our Project

 Contact us

Web development and hosting provided by Netimpulses.Com
This site is created by students for students.
Copyright © 2000-2011, Abroadplanet.Com. All rights reserved